cigar-tin story – “Draycott”

cgtn_draycott_squarex

cigar-tin story – Draycott  / /  an original painting on a dessert cigar tin which contains an accordion booklet of an original short story

Draycott is the story of bus ride out to the edges. You can hear it here.

cgtn_draycott2x

cgtn_draycott3x

I used to number my cigar-tin stories but at some point (around the 180 mark, I think?), between selling online and in-person, I lost track and couldn’t keep them straight. So now I just label them by the story, even though some stories might appear in two or three different tins over time (I probably have about 60 published stories and another 100 unpublished stories to choose from).

djberger_cigartinstories2x

djberger_cigartinstories1x

cgtns4x

cigartinbooklets1x

I find it easier to sell these in person, when I can put the cigar-tin story into someone’s hands and explain to them that they’re holding a one-of-a-kind, original art object, something priced to work as a highly unique collectible or gift.

cgtn_firstdayofschool2x

The online aspect is still a real struggle. I keep thinking that I’m going to reach some magical point where I’ve put in enough hustle and I’ve reached a large enough audience and I’ve won enough customers (or even patrons) that it will all go on autopilot and I’ll only have to worry about producing enough work … but that never happens. And all I can do is keep working.

One thought on “cigar-tin story – “Draycott”

  1. “… I’ll only have to worry about producing enough work … but that never happens. And all I can do is keep working.”

    … which is really all we can ever do anyway.

Leave a Reply

